ILLINOIS INDEPENDENT

TAX TRIBUNAL
)
CONCORD ENERGY LLC, )
)
Petitioner. )
)
)
v. )
)
ILLINOIS DEPARTMENT )
OF REVENUE, )
)
Respondent. )
PETITION

Petitioner, Concord Energy LLC (“Petitioner” or “Concord”), by and through its
attorneys, Eversheds Sutherland (US) LLP, hereby petitions the Illinois Independent Tax
Tribunal to review and reverse the Notices of Tax Liability (“Notices”) issued by the Illinois
Department of Revenue (the “Department™), for the reasons stated below:

INTRODUCTION
1. On February 25, 2020, the Department issued a Notice of Tax Liability (Letter ID
" CNXXXXX9374424X3) for the December 2019 reporting period to Concord Energy

LLC assessing Motor Fuel Tax as a receiver for $1,829.54, plus a late payment penalty of

$182.95 and interest of $8.75, for a total assessment of $2,021.24.

2. Also on February 25, 2020, the Department issued a Notice of Tax Liability (Letter ID

CNXXX1X7X5799528) for the December 2019 reporting period to Concord Energy
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LLC assessing Motor Fuel Tax as a distributor for $63,202.36, plus a late payment
penalty of $6,320.24 and interest of $302.19, for a total assessment of $69,824.79.

Also on February 25, 2020, the Department issued a Notice of Tax Liability (Letter ID
CNXXX1167486X645) for the January 2020 reporting period to Concord Energy LLC
assessing Motor Fuel Tax as a receiver for $4,404.39, plus a late payment penalty of
$88.09 and interest of $3.01, for a total assessment of $4,495.49.

Also on February 25, 2020, the Department issued a Notice of Tax Liability (Letter ID
CNXXX21443217768) for the January 2020 reporting period to Concord Energy LLC
assessing Motor Fuel Tax as a distributor for $152,151.62, plus a late payment penalty of
$3,043.03 and interest of $103.93, for a total assessment of $155,298.58.

Copies of the Notices are attached en globo as Exhibit A.

Concord is limited liability company organized and existing under the laws of Colorado.
Petitioner maintains its principal place of business at 1401 17 Street, Suite 1500,
Denver, Colorado 80202.

Petitioner’s telephone number is (303) 468-1900.

Petitioner’s Illinois Account IDs are 43447333 and 43447341.

Petitioner is represented by Eversheds Sutherland (US) LLP attorneys Justin B. Stone,
who is located at The Grace Building, 40th Floor, 1114 Avenue of the Americas, New
York, NY 10036-7703 and can be reached at (212) 389-5086 or JustinStone@eversheds-
sutherland.com and Open Weaver Banks who is located at The Grace Building, 40th
Floor, 1114 Avenue of the Americas, New York, NY 10036-7703 and can be reached at

(212) 389-5081 or OpenWeaverBanks@eversheds-sutherland.com.
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Respondent, the Department, is an agency of the state of Illinois responsible for
administering and enforcing the revenue laws of the state of Illinois.
This Tribunal has original jurisdiction over all Department determinations reflected in
Notices where the amount at issue exceeds, in the aggregate, $15,000.00, exclusive of
penalties and interest. 35 ILCS 1010/1-45.

BACKGROUND AND RELEVANT FACTS
Concord is an energy commodities marketing, logistics, and trading company based in
Denver, Colorado.
During December 2019 and January 2020 (the “Relevant Periods”), Concord did not hold
a valid Illinois Motor Fuel Tax license.
During the Relevant Periods, Concord sold C-5 natural gasoline condensate (hereinafter
“CS5 condensate™) that was not blended or compounded, and not sold for use as or
classified as motor fuel.
C5 condensate 1s not commonly or commercially sold as gasoline and is classified under
the American Society of Testing and Materials (“ASTM”) D8011, Standard Specification
for Natural Gasoline as a Blendstock in Ethanol Fuel Blends or as a Denaturant for Fuel
Ethanol.
CS condensate cannot be used as fuel in the engine of a motor vehicle or watercraft.
During the Relevant Periods, Concord sold C5 condensate to only one customer in
Illinois. The customer exported the C5 condensate on a natural gas pipeline to Canada to
be used as a diluent in crude oil in Canada.
Concord’s customer was licensed as a distributor and receiver of motor fuel with the

Department.
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The Department did not conduct an audit of Concord for the Relevant Periods; instead,
the Department issued the Notices based on information received from Concord’s
customer.
Since C5 condensate does not constitute motor fuel, Concord did not believe it was
required to be licensed as a distributor in Illinois. However, based on the Department’s
apparent position, in October 2019, Concord had applied with the Department to become
licensed as a Distributor and Receiver for purposes of the Illinois Motor Fuel Tax.
Concord’s application was pending during the Relevant Periods and Concord was fully
cooperating with the Department’s processing of the application.

APPLICABLE LAW
Illinois imposes a tax on the privilege of operating a motor vehicle on the public
highways of Illinois and recreational-type watercraft upon the waters of Illinois, which is
the Motor Fuel Tax. 35 ILCS 505/2.
The tax is imposed at a rate “per gallon on all motor fuel used in motor vehicles operating
on the public highways and recreational type watercraft operating upon the waters of this
State.” 35 ILCS 505/2(a).
A pre-collection regime has been adopted to implement the Motor Fuel Tax that requires
distributors of motor fuel to collect the Illinois Motor Fuel Tax (“Motor Fuel Tax-
Distributors”) from customers, subject to certain exemptions, on all sales of motor fuel
sold and distributed that are required to be reported. 35 ILCS 505/6.
A distributor is “a person who either (1) produces, refines, blends, compounds or
manufactures motor fuel in this State, or (i1) transports motor fuel into this State, or (ii1)

exports motor fuel out of this State, or (iv) engages in the distribution of motor fuel
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primarily by tank car or tank truck, or both, and who operates an Illinois bulk plant where
he or she has active bulk storage capacity of not less than 30,000 gallons for gasoline.”
35 ILCS 505/1.2.

Illinois also requires receivers of motor fuel to pay the Environmental Impact Fee, 415
ILCS 125, and Underground Storage Tank Tax, 35 ILCS 505/2a (collectively, the “Motor
Fuel Tax-Receivers”), on the first sale or use of fuel in the state.

A receiver is “a person who either produces, refines, blends, compounds or manufactures
fuel in this State, or transports fuel into this State or receives fuel transported to him from
without the State or exports fuel out of this State, or who is engaged in distribution of fuel
primarily by tank car or tank truck, or both, and who operates an Illinois bulk plant where
he has active fuel bulk storage capacity of not less than 30,000 gallons.” 35 ILCS
505/1.20.

Motor fuel is defined as “all volatile and inflammable liquids produced, blended or
compounded for the purpose of, or which are suitable or practicable for, operating motor
vehicles.” 35 ILCS 505/1.1.

The Motor Fuel Tax-Distributors law also refers to motor fuel to include “[a]ll products
commonly or commercially known or sold as gasoline (including casing-head and
absorption or natural gasoline), gasohol, motor benzol or motor benzene regardless of
their classification or uses.” 35 ILCS 505/5.

A Distributor is not required to collect and a Receiver is not required to pay Motor Fuel
Tax on certain sales of motor fuel. See 35 ILCS 505/2a, 35 ILCS 505/6, and 414 ILCS

125/310.
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Among the tax-free sales of motor fuel are those sales (i) made to a licensed distributor or
supplier and (i1) where delivery is made to a purchaser outside of Illinois. See 35 ILCS
505/2a, 35 ILCS 505/6, and 414 ILCS 125/310.
ERROR 1

C5 Condensate is Not a Taxable Motor Fuel
Concord hereby restates and realleges the allegations contained in paragraphs 1 through
32 as if set forth fully herein.
As stated above, taxable motor fuel is “all volatile and inflammable liquids produced,
blended or compounded for the purpose of, or which are suitable or practicable for,
operating motor vehicles.” 35 ILCS 505/1.1.
Furthermore, the tax is imposed only on “motor fuel used in motor vehicles operating on
the public highways and recreational type watercraft operating upon the waters of this
State.” 35 ILCS 505/2(a).
C5 condensate is not produced, blended, or compounded for the purpose of, or which is
suitable or practicable for, operating motor vehicles.
C5 condensate cannot be used to operate a motor vehicle or watercraft and, in fact, will
be used as a diluent in crude oil in Canada.
The use of gasoline in motor vehicles in all states except California 1s governed by the
U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (“EPA”) pursuant to the Clean Air Act Section
211 and EPA’s Regulation of Fuels and Fuel Additives. 42 USC § 7545 and 40 C.F.R.
Part 80.
Hlinois’ Motor Fuel and Petroleum Standards Act sets forth this regime by stating that

“[a]ll gasoline products shall meet the most recently adopted ASTM standards for spark-
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ignition motor fuel, and those standards adopted under the provisions of the federal Clean
Air Act by the U. S. Environmental Protection Agency shall be the standards of this State
in those areas in which the federal Clean Air Act fuel standards apply.” 815 ILCS
370/4(d).

EPA regulations require gasoline to be certified as having met certain specifications, and
the ASTM standards for spark-ignition motor fuel in ASTM D4814 set forth these
requirements and the testing procedures.

C5 condensate does not satisfy the complex requirements necessary to be certified as
gasoline. If C5 condensate is intended for use in a motor vehicle, blending the C5
condensate with various blendstocks would be necessary to produce a motor fuel that
meets certification requirements. 40 C.F.R. Part 80, Subpart D Reformulated Gasoline
and Subpart E Anti-Dumping.

EPA regulations also require explicit designation of fuel as a gasoline for use in a motor
vehicle, and EPA-prescribed wording must appear on contracts, bills of lading, invoices
and/or other commercial documentation. 40 C.F.R. § 80.77.

CS5 condensate received and sold by Concord is not designated as gasoline for use in a
motor vehicle and used none of the EPA-prescribed wording.

C5 condensate received and sold by Concord is clearly identified on shipping and
commercial documents as product other than gasoline for use in a motor vehicle. Such
identification includes the use of numeric identifiers that are required by law and used
globally to identify the chemical properties of the product for health and safety purposes.
For example, the U.S. Occupational Safety and Health Administration’s Hazard

Communication Standard requires the issuance of a Safety Data Sheet whenever a
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chemical is distributed upstream of the end-user, and the Safety Data Sheet requires the
use of the chemical name, common name and synonyms, and a Chemical Abstracts
Service (CAS) number and other unique identifiers. 29 CFR 1910.1200(g). In no
instances has the C5 condensate been identified as a motor fuel or gasoline, or have the
CAS numbers or other unique identifiers used been the identifiers for motor fuel or
gasoline.
Therefore, C5 condensate is not a taxable motor fuel.
WHEREFORE, the Petitioner demands judgment as follows:
(a) That Concord’s CS condensate is not a taxable motor fuel,
(b) That the Notices be vacated, reversed, and set aside in their entirety; and
(c) Such other and further relief as the Tribunal may deem just and appropriate.
ERROR 2

C5 Condensate is Not Taxable Gasoline
Concord hereby restates and realleges the allegations contained in paragraphs 1 through
32 as if set forth fully herein.
As stated above, motor fuel includes those products commonly or commercially known
or sold as gasoline.
CS5 condensate is a product of natural gas processing plants and crude oil refineries and is
considered to be a heavy petrochemical feedstock.
Specifically, C5 condensate is classified under ATSM D801 1, Standard Specification for
Natural Gasoline as a Blendstock in Ethanol Fuel Blends or as a Denaturant for Fuel
Ethanol. Products classified under ASTM D8011 are not commonly or commercially

known or sold as gasoline.



50.  C5 condensate does not fall in the ASTM classification for gasoline, which is ASTM
D4814.
51. Therefore, C5 condensate is not taxable gasoline.
WHEREFORE, the Petitioner demands judgment as follows:
(a) That Concord’s C5 condensate is not taxable gasoline;
(b) That the Notices be vacated, reversed, and set aside in their entirety; and
(c) Such other and further relief as the Tribunal may deem just and appropriate.
ERROR 3

Even if C5 Condensate is a Taxable Motor Fuel, the Sale of C5 Condensate to a Licensed
Distributor is Tax-Free

52.  Concord hereby restates and realleges the allegations contained in paragraphs 1 through
32 as if set forth fully herein.

53. Sales of motor fuel to a licensed distributor of motor fuel are not subject to the Motor
Fuel Tax. See 35 ILCS 505/2a, 35 ILCS 505/6, and 414 ILCS 125/310.

54.  All of Concord’s sales of C5 condensate were made to a licensed distributor of motor fuel
in llinois.

55.  Therefore, Concord’s sales of C5 condensate are not subject to the Motor Fuel Tax.

56. WHEREFORE, the Petitioner demands judgment as follows:
(a) That Concord’s sales of C5 condensate are tax-free sales to a licensed distributor

of motor fuel;

(b) That the Notices be vacated, reversed, and set aside in their entirety; and

(c) Such other and further relief as the Tribunal may deem just and appropniate.



ERROR 4

Even if C5 Condensate is a Taxable Motor Fuel, the C5 Condensate was Ultimately Exported
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and Tax-Free

Concord hereby restates and realleges the allegations contained in paragraphs 1 through
32 as if set forth fully herein.
Motor Fuel Tax is not due on sales where delivery of the motor fuel is made to a
purchaser outside of Illinois. See 35 ILCS 505/2a, 35 ILCS 505/6, and 414 ILCS
125/310.
All C5 condensate sold by Concord was exported to Canada by Concord’s customer.
The C5 condensate was ultimately used as a diluent in crude oil in Canada.
None of the CS condensate was used in a motor vehicle on the public highways of Illinois
or in a recreational-type watercraft on the waters of Illinois.
Concord’s customer, if Concord had collected Motor Fuel Tax, would have been entitled
to a refund of such tax on motor fuel exported outside of Illinois.
The State of Illinois is in no different economic position because Concord did not pre-
collect Motor Fuel Tax from its customer because the customer would have subsequently
filed a claim for refund of that same Motor Fuel Tax on the basis the C5 condensate was
exported to Canada.
Therefore, Concord should not owe Motor Fuel Tax now on sales of C5 condensate that
was exported to Canada.
WHEREFORE, the Petitioner demands judgment as follows:
(a) That no Motor Fuel Tax is due on C5 condensate exported to Canada by

Concord’s customer;

(b)  That the Notices be vacated, reversed, and set aside in their entirety; and

10
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() Such other and further relief as the Tribunal may deem just and appropriate.
ERROR 5

Penalties Must Be Abated for Reasonable Cause.
Concord hereby restates and realleges the allegations contained in paragraphs 1 through
32 as if set forth fully herein.
Any penalties must be abated for reasonable cause.
The Department assessed penalties in the amount of $11,695.49.
Under Illinois law, no penalties shall be imposed on a taxpayer if his failure to pay tax
was due to reasonable cause. 35 ILCS 735/3-8.
Under Illinois regulations, “the most important factor to be considered in making a
determination to abate a penalty will be the extent to which the taxpayer made a good
faith effort to determine the proper tax liability and to file and pay the proper liability in a
timely fashion.” Ill. Admin. Code tit. 86, § 700.400(b).
A taxpayer is considered to have made a good faith effort to determine, file, and pay its
tax liability if it “exercised ordinary business care and prudence in doing so.” Ill. Admin.
Code tit. 86, § 700.400(c).
Concord’s sales of C5 condensate were not taxable motor fuels and/or were tax-free sales
and no Motor Fuel Tax return was required to be filed and/or Motor Fuel Tax paid.
Concord made a good faith effort to determine its proper tax liability and to file and pay
its proper tax liability in a timely fashion.
Concord exercised ordinary business care and prudence in determining its proper tax
liability and filing and paying its proper tax liability in a timely fashion.

Therefore, the penalties imposed by the Department must be abated for reasonable cause.

11



WHEREFORE, the Petitioner demands judgment as follows:

(a) That all penalties assessed by the Department be abated in full; and

(b) Such other and further relief as the Tribunal may deem just and appropnate.
CONCLUSION AND REQUEST FOR RELIEF

WHEREFORE, the Petitioner demands judgment as follows:

(a) That the Department’s Notices be vacated, reversed, and set aside in their entirety;

(b)  Altemnatively, that all penalties assessed by the Department be abated in full; and

(c) Such other and further relief as the Tribunal may deem just and appropriate.

EVERSHEDS SUTHERLAND (US) LLP
Attorneys for Petition

W@.Wb

Justin B. Stone
EV&SHEDS SUTHERLAND (US) LLP
The'Grace Building, 40th Floor

1114 Avenue of the Americas

New York, NY 10036-7703

(212) 389-5086
JustinStone@everesheds-sutherland.com
ARDC #6328309

And

Open Weaver Banks

EVERSHEDS SUTHERLAND (US) LLP

The Grace Building, 40th Floor

1114 Avenue of the Americas

New York, NY 10036-7703

(212) 389-5081
OpenWeaverBanks@everesheds-sutherland.com
ARDC # 6238987

DATED: Apnl 1, 2020

12
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Notice of Tax Liability

STATE OF

lllinois

)EPARTMENT OF REVENUE
& tax.illinois.gov

February 25, 2020

FONR XK0 3744 24X L

CONCORD ENERGY LLC Letter ID: CNXXXXX9374424X3

1401 17TH ST STE 1500

DENVER CO 80202-1253 Account ID: 43447341
License No: R-41034

Reporting period: December 2019

We have processed your Motor Fuel Tax - Receiver return for the December 2019 reporting period.
If you agree, please use the voucher on the enclosed Taxpayer Statement to make your payment.

If you do not agree, you may contest this notice by following the instructions on the protest rights page.

If you do not protest this notice or pay the assessment in full, we may take collection action against you for the balance due, which may
include levy of your wages and bank accounts, filing of a tax lien, or other action

Note: If you are under bankruptcy protection, see the "Bankruptcy Information” section on the following pages of this notice for
additional information and instructions.

Liability Payments/Credit Unpaid Balance
MF - Return Adjustment 1,829.54 0.00 1,829.54
Late-Payment Penalty 182.95 0.00 182.95
Interest 8.75 0.00 8.75
Assessment Total $2,021.24 $0.00 $2,021.24

For questions, visit our web site at tax.illinois.gov or call us weekdays between 8:00 a.m. and 4:00 p.m. at 217 782-2291.

IDOR-2P (R-12/17) P-000020



Taxpayer Bill of Rights

® You have the right to call the Department of Revenue for help in resolving tax probiems.
You have the right to privacy and confidentiality under most tax laws.

® You have the right to respond, within specified time periods, to Department notices by asking questions,
paying the amount due, or providing proof to refute the Department's findings.

® You have the right to appeal Department decisions, irn many instances, within specified time periods, by asking
for Department review, by a filing a petition with the lllinois Independent Tax Tribunal, or by filing a complaint
in circuit court.

* [f you have overpaid your taxes, you have the right, within specified time periods, to file for a credit (or, in some
cases, a refund) of that overpayment.

The full text of the Taxpayers' Bill of Rights is contained in the lilinois Compiled Statutes, 20 ILCS 2520/1, et seq.

Bankruptcy Information
If you are currently under the protection of the Federal Bankruptcy Court, contact us and provide the bankruptcy case
number and the bankruptcy court. The bankruptcy automatic stay does not change the fact that you are required to file
tax returns. For those under bankruptcy protection this notice is not an attempt to coliect tax debt. lllinois law requires
issuance of this notice to advise you of an amount due or a missing return that must be filed.

Explanation of Penalties and Fees
For more detailed information, see Publication 103, Penalties and Interest for fllinois taxes.
Are penalties ever abated?
If you were unable to either timely pay the required amount of payments, pay the tax you owe by the due date, or file your tax return by
the extended due date because of a casualty, disaster, or other similar circumstance, you may request a waiver of penaities due to
reasonable cause. A bad check or negligence penalty may also be waived due to reasonable cause. To request this waiver, send us a
detailed explanation of the cause of the delay and any documentation you have to support your request. Reasonable cause will be
determined on a case-by-case basis according to our rules and regulations. A fraud penalty or cost of coliection fee cannot be waived.
How is interest figured?
Interest is calculated on your tax from the day after the original due date of your return through the date you pay the tax. Interest
cannot be waived.
Late-filing or Nonfiling penalty - You owe this penalty if you do not file a return by the due date, including any extended due date, or
you file a return that is not processable and you do not correct it within 30 days of the date we notify you.
Late-payment penalty for underpayment of estimated or accelerated tax due - You owe this penalty if you were required to make
estimated or accelerated tax payments and failed to do so, or if you failed to pay the required amount by the payment due date.
Late-payment penaity for regular tax payments - You owe this penality if you did not pay the tax you owed by the due date of the
payment or the original due date of the return.
Cost of collection fee - You owe this fee if you do not pay the total amount you owe within 30 days after a bill has been issued.
Bad check penalty - You owe this penalty if you send a remittance to the Department that is not honored by your financial institution.
Negligence penalty - You owe this penalty if, in preparing a return or amended retum, you do not make a reasonable attempt to
comply with the provisions of any tax act, including showing careless, reckless, or intentional disregard for the law or regulations.
Fraud penalty - You owe this penalty if any part of a deficiency is due to fraud.
Audit penaity - You owe this penalty if you did not pay the tax you owed before the start of an audit or investigation.
Failure to disclose participation in a reportabie transaction penaity - You owe this penalty if you were required to disclose your
participation in an abusive tax shelter transaction and did not clo so by the required due date.
Reportable transaction understatement penalty - You owe this penalty if you do not report and pay the full amount of your tax
liability as the result of participating in an abusive tax shelter transaction.
100 percent interest penalty - You owe this penalty if you
* were contacted by the Internal Revenue Service or lllinois Department of Revenue regarding the use of a potentially abusive tax

avoidance shelter transaction for a taxable year;

are later found to have a deficiency in that taxable year that is the result of a tax avoidance transaction; and

did not report or pay that liability before we issued a Notice of Deficiency.

IDOR-2P (R-12/17)



Protest Rights

If you do not agree, you may protest this notice by following the instructions listed below.

If the amount of this tax liability, exclusive of penalty and interest, is more than $15,000, or if no tax liability is assessed but
the total penalties and interest is more than $15,000, file a petition with the lllinois Independent Tax Tribunal within 60 days of this
notice. Your petition must be in accordance with the rules of practice and procedure provided by the Tribunal (35 ILCS 1010/1-1, et

seq.).

In all other cases that do not fall within the jurisdiction of the lllinois Independent Tax Tribunal, file a protest with us, the
lilinois Department of Revenue, and request an administrative hearing within 60 days of the date of this notice, which is April 27,
2020. Your request must be in writing, clearly indicate that you want to protest, and expiain in detail why you do not agree with our
actions. You may not protest any amount of tax that you agreed was due when you filed your return; you may protest penaity,
disallowed discount, and interest. If you do not file a protest within the time allowed, you will waive your right to a hearing, and this
liability will become final. An administrative hearing is a formal legal proceeding conducted pursuant to rules adopted by the
Department and is presided over by an administrative law judge. A protest of this notice does not preserve your rights under any other
notice.

Instead of filing a petition with the Illinois Independent Tax Tribunal or a protest with us, the lllinois Department of Revenue,
you may, under Sections 2a and 2a.1 of the State Officers and Employees Money Disposition Act (30 ILCS 230/2a, 230/2a.1), pay the
total liability under protest using Form RR-374, Notice of Payrnent Under Protest (available on our website at tax.illinois.gov), and
file a comptlaint with the circuit court for a review of our determination.

IDOR-2P (R-12/17)

P-000021



Notice of Tax Liability

STATE OF

OIS

DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE
S tax.illinois.gov

T —
]

{ ]

a

February 25, 2020

FONXX X7 X570 95258 U g

CONCORD ENERGY LLC Letter ID: CNXXX1X7X5799528

1401 17TH ST STE 1500

DENVER CO 80202-1253 Account ID: 43447333
License No: D-41034

Reporting period: December 2019

We have processed your Motor Fuel Tax - Distributor return for the December 2019 reporting period.
if you agree, please use the voucher on the enclosed Taxpayer Statement to make your payment.

If you do not agree, you may contest this notice by following the instructions on the protest rights page.

If you do not protest this notice or pay the assessment in full, we may take collection action against you for the balance due, which may
include levy of your wages and bank accounts, filing of a tax lien, or other action

Note: If you are under bankruptcy protection, see the "Bankruptcy Information” section on the following pages of this notice for
additional information and instructions.

Liability Payments/Credit Unpaid Balance
MF - Return Adjustment 63,202.36 0.00 63,202.36
Late-Payment Penalty 6,320.24 0.00 6,320.24
Interest 302.19 0.00 302.19
Assessment Total $69,824.79 $0.00 $69,824.79

For questions, visit our web site at tax.illinois.gov or call us weekdays between 8:00 a.m. and 4.00 p.m. at 217 782-2291.

IDOR-2P (R-12/17) P-000025



Taxpayer Bill of Rights

® You have the right to call the Department of Revenue for help in resolving tax problems.

® You have the right to privacy and confidentiality under most tax laws.

® You have the right to respond, within specified time periods, to Department notices by asking questions,
paying the amount due, or providing proof to refute the Department's findings.

® You have the right to appeal Department decisions, in many instances, within specified time periods, by asking
for Department review, by a filing a petition with the lllinois Independent Tax Tribunal, or by filing a complaini
in circuit court.

® |f you have overpaid your taxes, you have the right, within specified time periods, to file for a credit (or, in some
cases, a refund) of that overpayment.

The full text of the Taxpayers' Bill of Rights is contained in the lllinois Compiled Statutes, 20 ILCS 2520/1, et seq.

Bankruptcy Information
If you are currently under the protection of the Federal Bankruptcy Court, contact us and provide the bankruptcy case
number and the bankruptcy court. The bankruptcy automatic stay does not change the fact that you are required to file
tax returns. For those under bankruptcy protection this notice is not an attempt to collect tax debt. lllinois law requires
issuance of this notice to advise you of an amount due or a missing return that must be filed.

Explanation of Penalties and Fees

For more detailed information, see Publication 103, Penalties and Interest for lllinois taxes.
Are penalities ever abated?
If you were unabile to either timely pay the required amount of payments, pay the tax you owe by the due date, or file your tax return by
the extended due date because of a casualty, disaster, or other similar circumstance, you may request a waiver of penalties due to
reasonable cause. A bad check or negligence penalty may aiso be waived due to reasonable cause. To request this waiver, send us a
detailed explanation of the cause of the delay and any documentation you have to support your request. Reasonable cause will be
determined on a case-by-case basis according to our rules and regulations. A fraud penalty or cost of collection fee cannot be waived.
How is interest figured?
Interest is calculated on your tax from the day after the original due date of your return through the date you pay the tax. Interest
cannot be waived.
Late-filing or Nonfiling penalty - You owe this penalty if you do not file a return by the due date, including any extended due date, or
you file a return that is not processable and you do hot correct it within 30 days of the date we notify you.
Late-payment penalty for underpayment of estimated or accelerated tax due - You owe this penalty if you were required to make
estimated or accelerated tax payments and failed to do so, or if you failed to pay the required amount by the payment due date.
Late-payment penalty for regular tax payments - You owe this penalty if you did not pay the tax you owed by the due date of the
payment or the original due date of the return.
Cost of collection fee - You owe this fee if you do not pay the total amount you owe within 30 days after a bill has been issued.
Bad check penalty - You owe this penalty if you send a remitiance to the Department that is not honored by your financial institution.
Negligence penalty - You owe this penaity if, in preparing a return or amended retum, you do not make a reasonable attempt to
comply with the provisions of any tax act, including showing careless, reckless, or intentional disregard for the law or regulations.
Fraud penalty - You owe this penalty if any part of a deficiency is due to fraud.
Audit penalty - You owe this penalty if you did not pay the tax you owed before the start of an audit or investigation.
Failure to disclose participation in a reportable transaction penalty - You owe this penalty if you were required to disclose your
participation in an abusive tax shelter transaction and did not do so by the required due date.
Reportable transaction understatement penalty - You owe this penalty if you do not report and pay the full amount of your tax
liability as the result of participating in an abusive tax shelter transaction.
100 percent interest penalty - You owe this penalty if you

* were contacted by the Internal Revenue Service or lllinnis Department of Revenue regarding the use of a potentially abusive tax

avoidance shelter transaction for a taxable year;
* are later found to have a deficiency in that taxable year that is the resuit of a tax avoidance transaction; and
* did not report or pay that liability before we issued a Notice of Deficiency.

IDOR-2P (R-12/17)



Protest Rights

If you do not agree, you may protest this notice by following the instructions listed below.

If the amount of this tax liability, exclusive of penalty and interest, is more than $15,000, or if no tax liability is assessed but
the total penalties and interest is more than $15,000, file a petition with the lllinois Independent Tax Tribunal within 60 days of this
notice. Your petition must be in accordance with the rules of practice and procedure provided by the Tribunal (35 ILCS 1010/1-1, et

seq.).

In all other cases that do not fall within the jurisdiction of the lllinois independent Tax Tribunal, file a protest with us, the
lllinois Department of Revenue, and request an administrative hearing within 60 days of the date of this notice, which is April 27,
2020. Your request must be in writing, clearly indicate that you want to protest, and explain in detail why you do not agree with our
actions. You may not protest any amount of tax that you agreed was due when you filed your return; you may protest penalty,
disallowed discount, and interest. If you do not file a protest within the time allowed, you will waive your right to a hearing, and this
liability will become final. An administrative hearing is a formal legal proceeding conducted pursuant to rules adopted by the
Department and is presided over by an administrative law judge. A protest of this notice does not preserve your rights under any other
notice.

Instead of filing a petition with the lilinois Independent Tax Tribunal or a protest with us, the lllinois Department of Revenue,
you may, under Sections 2a and 2a.1 of the State Officers and Employees Money Disposition Act (30 ILCS 230/2a, 230/2a.1), pay the
total liability under protest using Form RR-374, Notice of Payment Under Protest (available on our website at tax.illinois.gov), and
file a complaint with the circuit court for a review of our determination.

IDOR-2P (R-12/17)
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Notice of Tax Liability

STATE OF

DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE
g tax.illinois.gov

February 25, 2020

FONXX X116 7486 X645 M0RERRS AErREARR A

CONCORD ENERGY LLC Letter ID: CNXXX1167486X645

1401 17TH ST STE 1500

DENVER CO 80202-1253 Account ID: 43447341
License No: R-41034

Reporting period: January 2020

We have processed your Motor Fuel Tax - Receiver return for the January 2020 reporting period.
If you agree, please use the voucher on the enclosed Taxpayer Statement to make your payment.

If you do not agree, you may contest this notice by following the instructions on the protest rights page.

If you do not protest this notice or pay the assessment in full, we may take collection action against you for the balance due, which may
include levy of your wages and bank accounts, filing of a tax lien, or other action

Note: If you are under bankruptcy protection, see the "Bankruptcy Information” section on the following pages of this notice for
additional information and instructions.

Liability Payments/Credit Unpaid Balance
MF - Return Adjustment 4,404.39 0.00 4,404.39
Late-Payment Penalty 88.09 0.00 88.09
Interest 3.01 0.00 3.01
Assessment Total $4,495 .49 $0.00 $4,495.49

For questions, visit our web site at tax.illinois.gov or call us weekdays between 8:00 a.m. and 4:00 p.m. at 217 782-2291.

IDOR-2P (R-12/17) P-000022



Taxpayer Bill of Rights

® You have the right to call the Department of Revenue for help in resolving tax problems.
You have the right to privacy and confidentiality under rost tax laws.

* You have the right to respond, within specified time periods, to Department notices by asking questions,
paying the amount due, or providing proof to refute the Department's findings.

® You have the right to appeal Department decisions, in rnany instances, within specified time periods, by asking
for Department review, by a filing a petition with the lllinois Independent Tax Tribunal, or by filing a complaint
in circuit court.

® If you have overpaid your taxes, you have the right, within specified time periods, to file for a credit (or, in some
cases, a refund) of that overpayment.

The full text of the Taxpayers' Bill of Rights is contained in the lllinois Compiled Statutes, 20 ILCS 2520/1, et seq.

Bankruptcy Information
If you are currently under the protection of the Federal Bankruptcy Court, contact us and provide the bankruptcy case
number and the bankruptcy court. The bankruptcy automatic stay does not change the fact that you are required to file
tax returns. For those under bankruptcy protection this notice is not an attempt to collect tax debt. lllinois law requires
issuance of this notice to advise you of an amount due or a missing return that must be filed.

Explanation of Penalties and Fees
For more detailed information, see Publication 103, Penalties and Interest for llinois taxes.
Are penaities ever abated?
If you were unable to either timely pay the required amount of payments, pay the tax you owe by the due date, or file your tax return by
the extended due date because of a casualty, disaster, or other similar circumstance, you may request a waiver of penalties due to
reasonable cause. A bad check or negligence penalty may also be waived due to reasonable cause. To request this waiver, send us a
detailed explanation of the cause of the delay and any documentation you have to support your request. Reasonable cause will be
determined on a case-by-case basis according to our rules and regulations. A fraud penalty or cost of collection fee cannot be waived.
How is interest figured?
Interest is calculated on your tax from the day after the original due date of your return through the date you pay the tax. Interest
cannot be waived.
Late-filing or Nonfiling penalty - You owe this penalty if you do not file a return by the due date, including any extended due date, or
you file a return that is not processable and you do not correct it within 30 days of the date we notify you.
Late-payment penalty for underpayment of estimated or accelerated tax due - You owe this penalty if you were required to make
estimated or accelerated tax payments and failed to do so, or if you failed to pay the required amount by the payment due date.
Late-payment penalty for regular tax payments - You owe this penalty if you did not pay the tax you owed by the due date of the
payment or the original due date of the return.
Cost of collection fee - You owe this fee if you do not pay the total amount you owe within 30 days after a bill has been issued.
Bad check penalty - You owe this penalty if you send a remittance to the Department that is not honored by your financial institution.
Negligence penalty - You owe this penalty if, in preparing a return or amended retum, you do not make a reasonable attempt to
comply with the provisions of any tax act, including showing careless, reckless, or intentional disregard for the law or regulations.
Fraud penalty - You owe this penalty if any part of a deficiency is due to fraud.
Audit penalty - You owe this penalty if you did not pay the tax you owed before the start of an audit or investigation.
Failure to disclose participation in a reportable transaction penaity - You owe this penalty if you were required to disclose your
participation in an abusive tax shelter transaction and did not do so by the required due date.
Reportabie transaction understatement penalty - You owe this penalty if you do not report and pay the full amount of your tax
liability as the result of participating in an abusive tax sheiter transaction.
100 percent interest penalty - You owe this penalty if you
* were contacted by the Internal Revenue Service or lllinois Department of Revenue regarding the use of a potentially abusive tax
avoidance shelter transaction for a taxable year,
* are later found to have a deficiency in that taxable year that is the resuit of a tax avoidance transaction; and

¢ did not report or pay that liability before we issued a Notice of Deficiency.

IDOR-2P (R-12/17)



Protest Rights

if you do not agree, you may protest this notice by following the instructions listed below.

If the amount of this tax liability, exclusive of penalty and interest, is more than $15,000, or if no tax liability is assessed but
the total penalties and interest is more than $15,000, file a petition with the lllinois Independent Tax Tribunal within 60 days of this
notice. Your petition must be in accordance with the rules of practice and procedure provided by the Tribunal (35 ILCS 1010/1-1, et

seq.).

In all other cases that do not fall within the jurisdiction of the lllinois Independent Tax Tribunal, file a protest with us, the
illinois Department of Revenue, and request an administrative hearing within 60 days of the date of this notice, which is April 27,
2020. Your request must be in writing, clearly indicate that you want to protest, and explain in detail why you do not agree with our
actions. You may not protest any amount of tax that you agreed was due when you filed your return; you may protest penalty,
disallowed discount, and interest. If you do not file a protest within the time allowed, you will waive your right to a hearing, and this
liability will become final. An administrative hearing is a formal legal proceeding conducted pursuant to rules adopted by the
Department and is presided over by an administrative law judge. A protest of this notice does not preserve your rights under any other
notice.

instead of filing a petition with the lilinois Independent Tax Tribunal or a protest with us, the Illinois Department of Revenue,
you may, under Sections 2a and 2a.1 of the State Officers and Employees Money Disposition Act (30 ILCS 230/2a, 230/2a.1), pay the
total liability under protest using Form RR-374, Notice of Payment Under Protest (availabie on our website at tax.illinois.gov), and
file a complaint with the circuit court for a review of our determination.

IDOR-2P (R-12/17)
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Notice of Tax Liability

STATg OF

TMENT OF REVENUE
tax.illinois.gov

February 25, 2020

FoNRX X214 4321 7768 AR WA

CONCORD ENERGY LLC Letter ID: CNXXX21443217768

1401 17TH ST STE 1500

DENVER CO 80202-1253 Account ID: 43447333
License No: D-41034

Reporting period: January 2020

We have processed your Motor Fuel Tax - Distributor return for the January 2020 reporting period.
If you agree, please use the voucher on the enclosed Taxpayer Statement to make your payment.

If you do not agree, you may contest this notice by following the instructions on the protest rights page.

If you do not protest this notice or pay the assessment in full, we may take collection action against you for the balance due, which may
include levy of your wages and bank accounts, filing of a tax lien, or other action

Note: If you are under bankruptcy protection, see the "Bankruptcy Information” section on the following pages of this notice for
additional information and instructions.

Liability Payments/Credit Unpaid Balance
MF - Return Adjustment 152,151.62 0.00 152,151.62
Late-Payment Penalty 3,043.03 0.00 3,043.03
Interest 103.93 0.00 103.93
Assessment Total $155,298.58 $0.00 $155,298.58

For questions, visit our web site at tax.illinois.gov or call us weekdays between 8:00 a.m. and 4:00 p.m. at 217 782-2291.

IDOR-2P (R-12/17) P-000027



Taxpayer Bill of Rights

® You have the right to call the Department of Revenue for help in resolving tax problems.

® You have the right to privacy and confidentiality under most tax laws.

® You have the right to respond, within specified time periods, to Department notices by asking questions,
paying the amount due, or providing proof to refute the Department's findings.

® You have the right to appeal Department decisions, in many instances, within specified time periods, by asking
for Department review, by a filing a petition with the lllinois Independent Tax Tribunal, or by filing a complaini
in circuit court.

* |f you have overpaid your taxes, you have the right, within specified time periods, to file for a credit (or, in some
cases, a refund) of that overpayment.

The full text of the Taxpayers' Bill of Rights is contained in the lllinois Compiled Statutes, 20 ILCS 2520/1, et seq.

Bankruptcy Information
If you are currently under the protection of the Federal Bankruptcy Court, contact us and provide the bankruptcy case
number and the bankruptcy court. The bankruptcy automatic stay does not change the fact that you are required to file
tax returns. For those under bankruptcy protection this notice is not an attempt to collect tax debt. lllinois law requires
issuance of this notice to advise you of an amount due or a missing return that must be filed.

Explanation of Penalties and Fees
For more detaited information, see Publication 103, Penalties and Interest for illinois taxes.
Are penalties ever abated?
If you were unable to either timely pay the required amount of payments, pay the tax you owe by the due date, or file your tax return by
the extended due date because of a casualty, disaster, or other similar circumstance, you may request a waiver of penalties due to
reasonable cause. A bad check or negligence penalty may also be waived due to reasonable cause. To request this waiver, send us a
detailed explanation of the cause of the delay and any documentation you have to support your request. Reasonable cause will be
determined on a case-by-case basis according to our rules and regulations. A fraud penalty or cost of collection fee cannot be waived.
How is interest figured?
Interest is calculated on your tax from the day after the original due date of your return through the date you pay the tax. Interest
cannot be waived.
Late-filing or Nonfiling penalty - You owe this penalty if you do not file a return by the due date, including any extended due date, or
you file a return that is not processable and you do not correct it within 30 days of the date we notify you.
Late-payment penalty for underpayment of estimated or accelerated tax due - You owe this penalty if you were required to make
estimated or accelerated tax payments and failed to do so, or if you failed to pay the required amount by the payment due date.
Late-payment penalty for regular tax payments - You owe this penalty if you did not pay the tax you owed by the due date of the
payment or the original due date of the return.
Cost of collection fee - You owe this fee if you do not pay the total amount you owe within 30 days after a bill has been issued.
Bad check penalty - You owe this penalty if you send a remittance to the Department that is not honored by your financial institution.
Negligence penalty - You owe this penalty if, in preparing a return or amended retum, you do not make a reasonable attempt to
comply with the provisions of any tax act, including showing careless, reckless, or intentional disregard for the law or regulations.
Fraud penalty - You owe this penalty if any part of a deficiency is due to fraud.
Audit penalty - You owe this penaity if you did not pay the tax you owed before the start of an audit or investigation.
Failure to disclose participation in a reportable transaction penalty - You owe this penalty if you were required to disclose your
participation in an abusive tax shelter transaction and did not do so by the required due date.
Reportable transaction understatement penalty - You owe this penalty if you do not report and pay the full amount of your tax
liability as the result of participating in an abusive tax shelter transaction.
100 percent interest penalty - You owe this penalty if you
* were contacted by the Internal Revenue Service or lllinois Department of Revenue regarding the use of a potentially abusive tax

avoidance shelter transaction for a taxable year;

are later found to have a deficiency in that taxable year that is the result of a tax avoidance transaction; and

did not report or pay that liability before we issued a Notice of Deficiency.

IDOR-2P (R-12/17)



Protest Rights

if you do not agree, you may protest this notice by following the instructions listed below.

If the amount of this tax liability, exclusive of penalty and interest, is more than $15,000, or if no tax liability is assessed but
the total penalties and interest is more than $15,000, file a petition with the lllinois Independent Tax Tribunal within 60 days of this
notice. Your petition must be in accordance with the rules of practice and procedure provided by the Tribunal (35 ILCS 1010/1-1, et

seq.).

In all other cases that do not fall within the jurisdiction of the lllinois Independent Tax Tribunal, file a protest with us, the
Illinois Department of Revenue, and request an administrative hearing within 60 days of the date of this notice, which is April 27,
2020. Your request must be in writing, clearly indicate that you want to protest, and explain in detail why you do not agree with our
actions. You may not protest any amount of tax that you agreed was due when you filed your return; you may protest penaity,
disallowed discount, and interest. If you do not file a protest within the time allowed, you will waive your right to a hearing, and this
liabitity will become final. An administrative hearing is a formai legal proceeding conducted pursuant to rules adopted by the
Department and is presided over by an administrative law judge. A protest of this notice does not preserve your rights under any other
notice.

Instead of filing a petition with the lilinois Independent Tax Tribunal or a protest with us, the lllinois Department of Revenue,
you may, under Sections 2a and 2a.1 of the State Officers and Employees Money Disposition Act (30 ILCS 230/2a, 230/2a.1), pay the
total liability under protest using Form RR-374, Notice of Payment Under Protest (available on our website at tax.illinois.gov), and
file a complaint with the circuit court for a review of our determination.

IDOR-2P (R-12/17)
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